The Liebster Award – Discover New Blogs

unbenannt-11

 

So this seems to be something that’s flying around WordPress blogs at the moment and it’s been a nice way to find new blogs that interest me.  The premise is similar to that of a chain letter, or one of those Facebook posts that asks you to answer a bunch of questions before passing it along to other people.  Normally I’d ignore those sort of posts, but this has helped me find other blogs I like that I might not have found otherwise.  So I’ll pass it along.

I’ve been nominated for this by pine717 of The Maximum Utmost, which is one of the first blogs I found when I started doing this.  You should check it out too!  Anyway, I’ve been given 11 questions to answer.  I then need to write 11 new questions and nominate others for the award for them to answer.  Maybe you’d like to check their blogs out too!  Anyway, here we go.

1. What made you want to start writing a blog?

I’ve always wanted to be involved in games journalism, but I’m pretty bad at writing!  I saw a friend of mine writing a rather successful lifestyle blog, starting with just writing for the love of it and thought that it was something I could try as well.  It was a way of writing about something I love without any real commitment.  I’m enjoying it!

2. Outside of blogging, what hobbies do you cultivate?

Aside from the obvious one of playing video games, I also enjoy board games a great deal.  I’m quite partial to running too and am a rather keen cook.

3. Night owl or early riser?

Both!  I like to stay up fairly late but need to be up early to get to work.  I prefer to subsist on next to no sleep.

4. Book or movie that had the greatest influence on you growing up?

I’m actually not sure on this one, but if I had to pick something, I’d go for The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett.  I loved those books, especially the Rincewind series.

5. Favourite beverage to relax with?

Scotch!  Talisker to be exact.

6. Favourite character from a game?

Tricky one this.  There’s a difference between ‘memorable’ and ‘best’ I think, as many of the most memorable aren’t all that deep in terms of character.  Mario is memorable, but is he a good character?  Commander Shepherd springs to mind as he/she was what you made them and had as much depth as you were willing to them.  If I had to pick one, I might go for Max Payne as he’s very well written for the stories he’s in especially by the third game in the series.

7. Favourite season of the year?

Winter.  Easy.

8. What was the first game that made you like computer games?

Not sure I can remember far enough back, but Galaxians on the BBC was pretty great.  I think the first game I seriously played would be The Legend of Zelda though.  There was just so much to explore, and finding a secret felt like genuine discovery to 7 year old (I think!) me.  And the overworld theme.  That’s stuck with me to this day.

9. Beatles of Led Zeppelin?

I have time for both, but Beatles.

10. Pie or cake?

Cake!  Especially cheesecake.

11. Favourite number?

I’m a maths teacher.  So my favourite number is i.

Now for some nominations.  I don’t know that many bloggers yet, so I’m sorry if you’ve already been nominated, or if this sort of this doesn’t interest you!

The Modern Gamer: Father, Husband and the Family

Vahrkalla’s Video Games

MMLeonard

Baud Attitude

The Word Dump

Here are some questions should they choose to answer!

  1. If you weren’t blogging about your chosen subject, what would you blog about?
  2. Bacon or cheese?
  3. What’s the most expensive thing you regretted buying?
  4. Who’d win in a fight between Master Chief and Marcus Fenix?
  5. What is your go to game?
  6. What’s the longest gaming session you’ve had?
  7. Single or multi player?
  8. Is mobile gaming good or bad for the hobby as a whole?
  9. Will there ever be a truly good video game movie?
  10. Worst game you’ve ever played?
  11. Beer or wine?

Thanks for reading, I hope I get to see some responses!

1 thought on “The Liebster Award – Discover New Blogs”

Leave a Reply

