E3 2017 Wrap Up – Games and such

I don’t think I’ll ever go to E3 in person, and that’s just fine by me.

I’ve never been to E3, and I doubt I ever will. That’s mostly because it looks like there are far, far too many people in a big, hot hall. I’m more than content to read about and watch the games in comfort, and not have to go near crowds of humans who may be infected with a dormant form of the zombie plague.

So here are a few thoughts on the bits and pieces from during the event.  I’m sticking to the games and tech mainly, and avoiding the god-awful, cringe worthy presentations.  Stop with the faux YouTuber nonsense!  Anyway, enjoy!

EA

EA Logo

Sports, innit!  Madden has a story mode now, just like most of EA’s other sports franchises.  FIFA will also have a continuation of its story mode, The Journey, which my wife will be fairly happy about.  There’s more content for Battlefield 1 coming, which I don’t really car about much.  Seems to be a lot of night time maps, so if you like that sort of thing then brilliant I suppose.  Need For Speed is back.  PAYBACK in fact.  It’ll have a story mode once again which is the one thing it has over Forza/Horizon.  It looks pretty but I’ve never really been interested in racers for their plots.  If the racing is good then I may take a look, but it seems to be full of scripted sequences which may break the flow of the racing.  I’ll keep an eye one it but I’m not holding my breath.

There’s Battlefront 2 on it’s way as well.  It looks pretty, and there’s a single player campaign now too.  Basically this looks like what the previous game should have been, but then we knew that already.  Then there’s A Way Out, which is the one thing here that actually grabbed me.  A co-op (only) prison escape action adventure.  THAT HAS LOCAL CO-OP!  That last bit alone is enough to interest me, but it looks gorgeous, is from a developer with a good history, and it seems to stand out somewhat from many games.

Verdict: Lots of “Meh” with a little bit of “Oh, now that’s interesting”.

Microsoft

Microsoft logo

Microsoft needed games, and I suppose they had some.  They also needed to show off the Scorpio (or Xbox One X as it’s now called) well, and I’m not so sure about that.  I suppose the new system is powerful, and the Forza 7 trailer certainly looked good running on it, but it’s not really a system seller, and that’s what was really missing.  Don’t get me wrong, I like Forza a lot, but I won’t be buying a new (expensive) machine especially for it.  The original Xbox backwards compatibility was a great thing to show people though!

Anyway, games aplenty here!  A new Metro game, named Exodus (which may be exclusive, I’m not too sure) has me interested.  Dark, scary, and very serious.  It’s a series I like and I’m glad it’s back.  Player Unknown’s Battlegrounds, the battle royale style game, is a bit of a Twitch darling right now, and is heading to the console.  The Darwin Project seems to be in a similar vein but more light-hearted.  I’m not too fussed about either.  Skipping a few (seriously, there were a lot),  Dragonball Fighter Z looks fun, The Last Night and The Artful Escape have interesting art styles, Sea of Thieves is something I don’t care about, Cuphead still looks cool but really should get around to coming out and Crackdown 3 still exists.  There were a ton of other indie games, before getting to see Ashen, which seems to be trying to fill the void left by Dark SoulsOri is getting a sequel which is nice, and Shadow of War looks great too.  Then we got to see Anthem, which seems to be EA wanting to take on Destiny, which is pretty brave.  It does look good though!

Verdict:  Xbox One X is a thing now, too many games but very few system sellers.  Microsoft seem to be aiming at current users rather than new ones.

Bethesda

bethesda logo

This was about as safe as they get.  Bethesda took few risks, with VR versions of DOOM and Fallout 4, which will probably be pretty cool, and more Elder Scrolls.  We had Skyrim on Switch (again, and not looking brilliant if you ask me), and extra stuff for Elder Scrolls: Legends, their card game.  DLC for Dishonored 2 (honour has a ‘u’ in it!) is fine for fans of the series I’m sure, and a sequel to The Evil Within (which I didn’t like much) had a pretty great trailer.  Then we got the only bit I was really interested in, Wolfenstein 2, which looks pretty great.  The New Order was excellent so I’m hoping for more of that quality.

Verdict: Safe.  Very few risks here which is a little disappointing.

PC

XCOM 2 content!  Everything else can go home as far as I’m concerned, this wins.  It looks like a sizable expansion too, in the vein of Enemy Within.  Very excited!

I suppose I should mention other things too.  BattleTech seems to be coming along nicely, which is nice considering I backed it on Kickstarter.  Mount & Blade 2 and Total War: Warhammer 2 look fine too.  There were a few VR games too, but I’ll leave those to better qualified people to discuss.  Lawbreakers was mentioned too, offering some serious looking competition in the hero shooter genre.  Wargroove looks quite interesting, seeming to bring back the strategy of the classic Advance Wars.  I’m interested in this one.

Verdict: Go home everyone.  There’s more XCOM 2.  Life complete.

Ubisoft

Ubisoft New Logo

This one surprised me more.  I expected a lot of stuff we already knew, but there were a few unexpectedly interesting games.  So, forgetting about Assassin’s Creed: Origins having a trailer (that looks to be playing it safe with the series), Far Cry 5 still looking interesting, and the bizarre Mario/Rabbids crossover game, there were some cool announcements.  The Crew 2 exists (not interested), South Park has a release date (let’s hope it sticks this time), and Steep has some DLC (did that sell well enough).  Then there was Skull & Bones which is a pirate game!  Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag was great so I’m expecting a top pirate themed adventure here.  I know piracy is often frowned upon in gaming (ZING!), but I’m pretty excited by this.  Transference could be brilliant, terrible, or mad as a bag of cats.  It’s some something to do with VR I think?  There’s Elijah Wood in it which is…good?  Maybe?  It was bizarre enough to get my attention.

We had a game called Starlink, which seems to combine No Man’s Sky style space exploration, with the toys-to-life mechanics seen in Lego Dimensions and co, and an actual story.  I like space shooters so I’ll keep an eye on this one.  Then the one that people have been clamouring for for years: Beyond Good & Evil 2.  It’s been so long since the original that I’m not sure if I’m interested anymore.  Also, it’s a prequel so that trailer from years ago will still go unresolved.  Still, the trailer looks pretty cool so here’s hoping the franchise can finally be resurrected successfully.

Verdict:  Better than I expected!

Sony

Sony Logo

A problem I had here, was just seeing more trailers for games that had had trailers last year.  Spider-Man, God of War 4, Detroit, Days Gone, and so forth had been shown before.  I think this is a problem with E3 generally, showing games way too early leaving me to burn out on them before they get close to release.  Anyway, enough of that.  Gran Turismo is back, which is great although it will need to do well to compete with Forza for my racing attention!  Crash Bandicoot wasn’t really a surprise, but it’s nice to see.  Knack 2 is a thing that exists.  Hidden Agenda looks interesting, from the people behind Until Dawn.  It seems to a similar choice based progression but with multiple players using their phones to progress and interact with the game.  I like the look of this!  Superhot VR is a nice thing to have on the console, but I was very happy to see Undertale on a console.  Such a tremendous game deserves to be played by as many people as possible.

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy had a trailer appearance and looks good (I’m not that into the series though).  A console based Monster Hunter game is a great thing to see.  It feels right at home on a big screen.  I’ll probably pick this one up.  Speaking of ones to buy, Shadow of the Colossus is getting a PS4 remaster (or remake?) which means I may finally get to play this classic that I missed out on.  Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite got a story trailer (and a good one at that), but I’d like to see some gameplay in it.  Call of Duty WWII had a trailer too and very much looks like a Call of Duty game.  I think everyone knows what to expect here.  We got some Destiny 2 as well, which is fine if you’re interested in the series.  I don’t think it’s going to sway me though.

Verdict: A lot of what we’d already seen, but some pretty good stuff all the same.

Nintendo

Nintendo Logo

I haven’t been big on Nintendo for while now.  I feel for every innovation they push, they make 2 boneheaded moves that ignore modern innovations.  Still, the Switch seems to have done well for them!  Most of their stuff gets shown in the Nintendo Direct stuff they do, but they had some nice presentations here.  Xenoblade Chrinicles 2 looks fantastic, pity I haven’t played the series at all.  A new Kirby game is nice, but I suspect a lot of people were very excited to see Metroid Prime 4.  Whilst it’s only a logo for now, it’s a great series to try to bring back.  I think I’d have rather they try to create a new Metroid series, but Prime was an excellent trilogy so I understand their thinking.  Yoshi.  Yay.  Fire Emblem Warriors.  Also yay.

Rocket League is coming to the Switch which is nice.  It has cross play too which makes a lot of sense in this era.  Throwing in Nintendo items is a smart move.  Then, there’s Mario Odyssey.  Damn that trailer is good.  Suitable song, fun looking gameplay (I want to possess a koopa!) and frankly stunning visuals.  This and Breath of the Wild are pushing me towards buying a Switch.

Verdict: Nintendo forever relying on their established franchises.  Still, what they have looks pretty good.

So what did you like most from the show?  Would you rather go there in person?  Let me know!

 

22 thoughts on “E3 2017 Wrap Up – Games and such”

  1. I always thought I’d love to go to E3 then went to EGX a couple of years ago. Far too many people in a big, hot hall. Anthem had me excited, it looks a bit like Destiny but fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You pretty much echoed my feelings this E3 for the different conferences. All of them felt relatively safe.

    I will say though. Nintendo doesn’t usually shoot everything off at E3. I’d brace for more announcements this year. I’d bet Sony does the same.

    Similarly, I think that Nintendo has a tendency to rely very heavily on their established franchises, but I think fans are somewhat to blame. Whenever they come out with something different, their fanbase often doesn’t support it. Just look at Wonderful 101. Splatoon is a bit of an outlier.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have some different hype levels on different aspects of the show, but very good write-up nonetheless! (Piracy comment made me alnost spit out my drink)

    I think your comment about the 1X looking to appeal to the current customer base of Microsoft rather than branching to new ones really hits the nail on the head. But I dont necessarily think that is a bad thing. I think Microsoft/Phil Spencer are trying to build an entertainment system or brand rather than just an entertainment console. Bringing the native 4k to the market gives Xbox gamers a powerful system that they can be proud of running whatever they want on it. Bringing OG Xbox games to backwards compatability gives us the potential of having the entire catalog of Xbox history at our disposal in the future and that is fucking incredible in my opinion. I think the announcement and investment in the 1X is definitely long term instead of short term and by establishing themselves as a brand like this they will eventually bring the fans in (who knows how long it could take though!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think the long term backwards compatibility is an excellent move and may see a number of sales (perhaps not of their new system) for those who missed out on games from that generation. If they maintain this stance going into future generations it could pay off for them rather well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It certainly wasn’t the most exciting E3 I’ve seen, but not the worst. Maybe? There was a lot of “playing it safe” and talking about games we already knew about. Still, there were a few surprises like Skull & Bones, Anthem, and A Way Out-just nothing crazy exciting. But it’s not like I won’t have games to play the rest of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Same, I’ve never been tempted to go to E3 in person. I love it just fine from home. I mostly enjoyed Nintendo’s conference although I was hoping for some Smash Bros news. Either way, the Mario and Fire Emblem games are must buys for me and maybe Xenoblade 2. Beyond Good and Evil 2, DBZ Fighters, and Marvel vs Capcom are the other big ones that I can’t wait to snag. It was a pretty good E3 I’d say. Could have been better (Kingdom Hearts III, FF VII) but I was reasonably satisfied.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved Nintendo’s announcements. They pleased fans well with their revelations of Metroid Prime 4 and Pokemon Switch. And that Super Mario Odyssey trailer was amazing! I also enjoyed the trailers for Dragon Ball Fighter Z, Mario + Rabbids, the Life is Strange prequel, Monster Hunter World, and the Shadow of the Colossus remake. Overall, there was a lot for me to get hyped about!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never played X-COM, but this seems like a great diet way to introduce newbies like me to the concept. I don’t like the Rabbids, but I like Mario in new gameplay styles.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I would like to go to E3 once just to do it, but I’m also content just watching streams and reading news. Was pretty disappointed with this year as a whole. Nintendo and Microsoft were the only events to get a rise out of me, and that’s coming from a Sony fanboy. My game of show was easily Mario Odyssey. It looks fantastic, and I’ve never been let down by the Italian plumber. Also, I’ll have it in my hands in just a few months!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nintendo have handled it well. It’s not been a case of showing us the same game year on year, they’ve shown that Mario exists, then they showed us gameplay, next it’ll be released. I may get a Switch for it!

      Like

  8. I was pretty happy about Nintendo’s show. I had a pretty empty list of games tom play until the end oft he year and now I am left wondering how in the world I will find the time to tackle them all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

