I’m Rob, and Here’s What I’ve Been Playing – 4/2/18

Those video games eh?  There’s just so many of them!  Like, loads.  LOADS.  I can’t possibly play them all.  But I can play some!  And these are those!

Monster Hunter World

Monster Hunter
For a game called Monster Hunter, I didn’t think there would be nearly as much time spent cooking with cats.

I played one of these on the 3DS years ago and couldn’t get into it.  I felt like I had no idea what was going on and that the game had no interest in telling me.  I’m having a much better time with this one after being convinced to get it for the upcoming 24-hour charity gaming stream.  I’m having a good time with it, but I’m still unsure of a lot.  Whilst there are tutorials, a lot of it needs to be read over in the menus to get it figured out.  The act of hunting down a monster from having no clue where it is to fighting it to the death feels good though.  I’ll stick with it.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Mario Kart 8
Waluigi is my boy!

Everyone knows Mario Kart!  A few of us played this locally, which is always the best way to play as far as I’m concerned.  Plenty of occasions of dropping from 1st to 6th right on the finish line, and plenty of blue shells.  The lightening has become my personal nemesis now!

Darkest Dungeon

Darkest Dungeon
I’m so happy to be back. I think.

I loved this game on PC, and having it as a portable option is great.  There’s also the added fact that starting a new campaign feels less intimidating when it’s on a new system.  The Switch runs it well enough, although the control scheme has taken a bit of getting used to when in TV mode.  In portable mode it’s great due to the touch screen controls.  Hopefully my campaign will go a bit better this time since I actually have a clue about what I’m doing!

Golf Party

Golf Party
It gets very messy when everyone is trying to get into the same small space. Try doing it with banana shaped golf balls…

I’m not ashamed to say that I found out about this game from watching Game Grumps.  It’s a real time 2D golf game with hundreds of modifiers.  Use the stick to aim the ball, press A to fire it.  First person to get it in the hole gets the most points.  It’s essentially a race, but with 8 balls all flying through the air at once, bouncing off each other makes winning quite difficult.  Assuming you use balls that is.  You could play using bananas instead.  Or bricks.  Maybe you can hit the ball again whilst it’s in the air, or perhaps they’ll stick to the walls.  There are a ton of options to set up a game exactly how you want it, but there are loads of preset modes that make the most of these modifiers.  Played this with a group of friends and had a good time playing it.  I think it’s a little overpriced for what it is, but I had fun all the same.

Rocket League

Rocket League™_20160417203424
I know it’s a trophy picture, but it looks great!

Played this with the same group as Golf Party.  What else is there to say about Rocket League?  It’s great fun, car based football.  Or basketball.  Or ice hockey.  Or Tron-esque ball bouncing madness (a group favourite).  Aside from the loot box bollocks, it’s a good game with plenty of replayability.

Golem Gates

Golem Gates
It’s actually a pretty cool name.

Not going to say too much about this one, as I’ve written a preview that will be appearing on Big Boss Battle soon.  To keep it simple though, it’s a card-based RTS game with gorgeous character models and fast paced games.  It’s in Early Access for another month or so, but might be of interest to RTS gamers around my age…

What have you been playing?  Have you grabbed something new, something from the backlog, or perhaps an old reliable classic that you love?  Tell me so I can add some of those modern or classic greats to my ever increasing list of games.


29 thoughts on “I’m Rob, and Here’s What I’ve Been Playing – 4/2/18

  1. Like you I’ve tried past Monster Hunter games and was mostly just confused by them. I’m finding Monster Hunter World to be far more inviting and I’ve been enjoying my time with it so far. It helps that I have a crew of friends to play with regularly though, I’m not sure that I would be as in to it without them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that’s a tough part of growing up! No one has as much time so organising these sort of evenings is tough. I’m lining it up as a good “go to” game when people are around though so it should get some play over time.

      Like

    1. I could see it working with touch controls, but I wouldn’t expect a full on console release. My laptop isn’t an utter beast and it ran it surprisingly well on the highest settings so it must be pretty well optimised.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My GF and I gave up on Monster Hunter since it’s such a hassle to play together. Shame, though, since it was fun whenever it worked out.

    I just finished up Slayaway Camp: Butcher’s Cut on PS4, which is a neat little horror puzzle game. Hard to explain, but if you’re a fan of campy slasher films it’s an entertaining nod to those (while looking like Minecraft in the process).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. IIRC, Lakeview Cabin Collection is 2D. This is an insometric puzzle game that’s chunky like Minecraft. Every world is based on a bad horror film cliche, like hospitals, campgrounds, or Jason X. It’s way over the top and self-aware, which I liked. Basically, you control the killer and you have to kill everyone on the screen before escaping through a pentagram. Whichever direction you press, the killer walks in that direction until they hit something, along with interesting mechanics that cause people to flee whenever you’re nearby or turning off light switches. It’s really hard to explain, now that I’m trying to lol. Best thing I can suggest is checking out this YT video for a better understanding.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think I get the idea. You don’t control the killer as such, you just slide him around the area in straight lines. Sounds interesting but I can see me absolutely hating it!

        Like

  3. Im so glad you’re sticking with Monster Hunter World, once you can get your head around it. You will have some serious fun, plus the challenges of facing off against this monsters is very rewarding the more you progress through the story. If you’re playing on PS4, would love to do some hunting together 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Believe it or not, this is the most user friendly of all the titles so far lol Main thing is, just making sure you have ample resources, like Potions, traps, energy drinks. When looking up weapon attributes, best to go on the more info screen. Worth looking up monsters, in hunter notes. It gives a good inkling with what weapon and armour sets you want to be equipped with when facing off with them. Hope this helps a little!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah when it comes to experimenting, I really dont do it much to be honest. The switch Axe is the one for me, when it was first introduced in Monster Hunter Tri. I did try the gun lance for a bit though, tempted to give the gun slingers a try too.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It depends on what you mean by issues. It’s hard to get into, and playing co-op for the story missions is much harder than it should be. It’s good fun though if you like the idea of a more confusing Dark Souls meet Jurassic Park.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s no chance I’m going for all the different armours. I’ll probably pick out the ones I actually want to use and leave it at that. I’m not certain I’ll get around to completing the story to be honest!

      Like

  4. My American brain was confused for a second, because I thought it said April 2. I know I know…the way we do the date over here is nonsensical, but when you grow up with it, it’s what sticks in your mind hehe.

    I keep hearing about this Monster Hunter game. I’m not sure if it would be my cup of tea, but I might check out an LP of it to see if I might be wrong. You can never go wrong with Mario Kart!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment