The Gamer Confessions Tag

A bit thank you to Nick The Gent for this one.  I’ve been trying to be better at doing these sort of posts when I’m nominated for them (and again, sorry to any of those from the past that I’ve missed) so I’m doing them as I get them right now.  This is one about gaming confessions I think!  10 questions on games I like and don’t like.  Enjoy!

A Game Everyone Loves But You Can’t Stand: Minecraft

Minecraft

Ok, an easy one to start, and it’s probably fairly obvious why I don’t like Minecraft.  I’m just too old.  I say this because all those who seemed to love it were far younger than me.  I tried playing it for a while, but I couldn’t see the point in what I was doing.  The survival mode was an interesting idea, but without any real direction I found myself getting very bored very quickly.  If I were more creative then maybe I’d enjoy enjoy this a lot more!

A Game You Love But No One Else Seems To: Alpha Protocol

alpha-protocol-logo

“No one” might be a bit of a stretch for this, but Alpha Protocol was not all that well received by critics on its release.  It was a bit janky, didn’t look all that pretty, and was going up against some pretty big hitters in terms of RPGs at the time.  But it was actually a great fun globe trotting spy adventure (totally a genre) in which your agent genuinely starts out terrible at everything but becomes noticeably more proficient in the areas that you put your points into.  Further, the choices you make actually do seem to have a noticeable impact on the game’s progress and ending.  If you can get hold of a copy, it’s well worth a play.

An Older Game You Haven’t Finished And Probably Never Will: Hand of Fate

Hand of Fate

Again, “Older” is probably the wrong word for this, but who really cares?  To be fair, I really enjoyed Hand of Fate for a while.  If you’re not aware of it, this was a card game crossed with a 3D brawler of sorts.  You would move your character around a board made of cards, turning them over as you landed on each.  The cards would have events on them, and based on your decisions, you would progress a little story, gain or lose items, or engage in combat.  The stories were fun for a while, as you would be send off to find the card with the item or enemy involved, before returning for a reward.  The combat was less fun though, and felt like a sloppy version of the Arkham combat system that is so prevalent these days.  I completed most of the stages, leaving only two to finish, but by that point I’d seen most of the stories come up more than a couple of times, and the combat and gone beyond tiresome.  Maybe I’ll go back to it some day, but I wouldn’t bet on it.

A Guilty Pleasure Game: Clicker Heroes

clicker heroes logo

I’ve said in the past that there are very few games anyone should feel guilty for playing and enjoying.  You enjoy what you enjoy, and that’s just fine.  I enjoyed Clicker Heroes for 56 hours apparently.  More if you include when I played it on my phone too.  It’s not even a game!  You just tap the screen a lot, before buying characters that do the clicking for you when you’re not “playing”.  I hate that I spent so much time going back to it, but I was enjoying it for far longer than I should.  I think it became a habit rather than enjoyment by the time I uninstalled it though.

A Game You Really Love But Haven’t Played In A Long Time: The Legend of Zelda

The Legend of Zelda

I could put countless games here, but I’ve gone with The Legend of Zelda simply because it has a lot of good memories for me.  It controls well, has an open world of sorts, and the music!  The dungeons were interesting, with a new item to find that would tie into the boss that you’d go on to face, who were all varied in their own right.  Playing this is a bit of a faff, as hooking up a NES to a modern TV makes everything look dreadful, but one day, I’ll have that dream games room…

A Game You Never Play Seriously But Others Do: Rocket League

Rocket League logo

Honestly, I could pick a ton of games for this as a lot of people play a lot of games seriously.  I’ve picked out Rocket League simply because I can easily play this for a bit of fun, online or off.  It’s fun to play with my daughter, but incredibly impressive to watch when professionals play it.  Put simply, playing football in rocket powered cars is just straight up fun.

A Game You Completed But Hated By The End: Fallout 4

fallout 4 logo

“Hated” might be a strong word, but I wasn’t really all that interested in Fallout 4 by the end.  The story had gradually slipped out of my mind due to all the sidequests, and the obligatory settlement building (early on at least).  There were some fun bits along the way, but by the end I didn’t really care what happened.

A Game You Thought You’d Enjoy But Didn’t: Dishonored

Dishonored logo

I tried, I really did!  I loved the aesthetic, I loved the theme, I thought I’d love playing it.  But I didn’t.  I played about 5 hours or so and wasn’t invested in the world or characters at all.  The missions were interesting enough but I felt like I was doing too much faffing around with side objectives rather than getting to my target.  Perhaps I was playing it wrong, or didn’t have the right mindset going in; either way I just couldn’t get into it, and it forever sits in my retired pile.

A Game You Didn’t Think Was For You And Then Loved: Catherine

Catherine Logo

I wasn’t too sure about this one, because I really dislike platforming puzzles.  Even more so when you’re under pressure or have a time limit.  Catherine did not change my mind on this, and I still really didn’t enjoy the puzzle sections for the most part.  What I really liked though, was the story, the visuals, the overall art style (“especially of the “bosses”).  I don’t think this game would have worked nearly as well without the puzzle towers, but as a whole package, it’s a game that’s incredibly memorable.

A Game You Are Still Excited For That Hasn’t Come Out Yet: Half-Life 3

I know this seems like a cop-out, but every time I hear a hint of Half-Life 3 coming out, I get excited.  “Maybe this time it’s for real!” I think to myself.  I know deep down that it will never be released.  How could it?  It’ll never meet the expectations that have built up over the years.  Regardless, I still want it to happen.

Andhere are some nominations for this!  5 lovely blogs that are worth a read.  Of course, if you want to do this anyway, you go right ahead.  You’re lovely too!

Strange Girl Gaming

Home Button

Aywren Sojourner

Galaxy

Launches Joypad


27 thoughts on “The Gamer Confessions Tag

  1. The original The Legend of Zelda has held up a lot better than most of its contemporaries. Yeah, it’s a little cryptic at times, but its open world design adds a lot of replay value. I always get the White Sword before tackling any of the dungeons. Funnily enough, I inadvertently ended up pulling off something similar when I played Breath of the Wild.

    A lot of people (rightly) complained about the ending of Fallout 3 before the DLC fixed it and from what I heard, Fallout 4 fell into the same trap.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Fallout 3 was irritating, but thankfully I played it after the DLC came along so I didn’t get the disappointing ending. Well, not as disappointing anyway. Fallout 4 just didn’t engage me. Most of the side quests were dull, the world wasn’t all that interesting and the settlement nonsense was interminably dull.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Agree with you about Zelda 1 – I played it years after it was out (never had a NES), and was surprised by how playable it was – except being unable to move diagonally!

      Fallout is a weird one. It seems Fallout 3 and 4 have the same problems. I lost interest in Fallout 3 somewhere in the middle. I can’t imagine tackling an even bigger world map in Fallout 4.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I found navigating in Fallout 4 more of a pain than in previous games. There was always another settlement in the way, or the objective was miles away! I know they’re open world games, but I’d enjoy them more if they were a bit tighter.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine was a surprisingly fun experience. But then, when I started it up, I honestly went in blind. As for Minecraft, I’m with you on that. I never quite understood the hype and I think it has to do with the age factor. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading it!

      Catherine was a lot of fun, but I’m not ashamed to say that I finished a lot of the stages with a guide rather than slogging through them myself. It was more interesting to me as a visual spectacle for a lot of it. Those boss levels were insanely well designed in terms of imagery, but playing them for the 6th time made them become somewhat tiresome. Hence the guides!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get what you mean. I have to admit that I haven’t finished the game yet. Its one I revisit once in a while..but then, there are so many things to play, its hard to focus sometimes. I guess its why I love indie games for their shorter experience,

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The day Half Life 3 comes out will definitely be really surreal with how long everyone has been waiting for it. The bar’s also going to be set so high that I’m sure even the developers are nervous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t believe it will ever happen. The hype for it will generate utterly unrealistic expectations and it won’t have a hope of meeting them.

      Besides, we all know Valve can’t count to 3.

      Like

  4. Definitely with you on Rocket League. Love the game, but I’m just too horrible at it to play it seriously. So I opt to just have fun with it.

    Also agree with Fallout 4. Was very disappointed with it, as 3 is one of my favorite games. The writing was much worse, which is why the quests were so boring. Felt more like Fallout 3.5 as opposed to a true follow up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I never got into Minecraft either! I agree that it seems like it was for a younger crowd, which isn’t to insult anyone around my age or older who loves it of course. I’ve just noticed the biggest fans seem to be younger gamers or super visually creative types, both of which I’m neither. I think this might be why I couldn’t get into Dragon Quest Builders either. I’d also throw the Metroid series up there, too, but that’s not through lack of interest, but rather because I’m a gigantic wuss puss and Mother Brain TERRIFIES me. I think if it wasn’t for that, I’d adore the series, because the lore of it is so interesting. I find myself watching game theory videos about it, or, well listening to them so I don’t catch a glimpse of disembodied brain horror D:

    I’m (cautiously) excited for the FFVII Remake…not like anyone should be surprised by that :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Disembodied brain monsters are nightmare fuel! I don’t remember Mother Brain being in the Metroid Prime games though, so they might be worth a go. I really enjoyed the first one.

      FFVII is one of those that I don’t know how to feel about. There’s a good chance it could be terrible or utterly glorious. Having said that, I was cautious over FFXV due to its insane development time, but that turned out pretty damn great.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think they’re my biggest nightmare fuel. Maybe I’ll cautiously look at a Let’s Play of Prime. It’s such an iconic series.

        You and me both. When the first announced the remake I was super excited, which turned into cautious optimism and then wry cynicism that they were certainly going to fuck it up. Now I’m at acceptance that even if they do, it’s still going to be my favorite game and the remake will look hella pretty.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m with you on Minecraft! I enjoy creative things, but after playing a little bit of it, I realized it just wasn’t the game for me. I tried to go back to it a couple times but couldn’t get into it at all. Glad I’m not the only one who feels that way, because it seems like almost everyone loves that game!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was absolutely huge for a time. In fact, there are theories that Fortnite is so big right now because people who grew up building stuff in Minecraft are now older and building stuff in a shooter. It seems like quite a natural evolution.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment